Notifications
Clear all

Bernie Sanders

(@jeanne-mayell)
Illustrious Member Admin
Topic starter  

I made the mistake of coming directly to this thread to post something that had me all upset, and failing to read all of the compassionate and passionate posts first.  

@anumidium, I too wish I could help you with your situation.  It is upsetting to think you can't afford good healthy food. When I was a student, it was many decade ago and the costs were different. The country was more like what Bernie wishes it could be now.  The minimum wage was the highest it has been ever since (in real dollars).  I put myself through university by living off campus in a big old farmhouse with five roommates where the total rent was cheap and my share was affordable, as was tuition.  I got my textbooks used for next to nothing and had a part-time job that paid for my needs.  

For now, I want to send you all my highest wishes and tell you that I believe you will find a good life that is both affordable and happy. 

I also want to point out that I have a nephew who just completed university debt-free in the very expensive northwest without any help from parents or anyone. He lived off campus the whole time with roommates (as I had done) and worked part-time. 

CC21, lenor, Yofisofi and 13 people reacted
ReplyQuote
(@anumidium)
Estimable Member Registered

Thank you all. I have had a lifetime of not being heard; some deep childhood traumas. I just want to feel heard. Thank you. I just don’t trust Joe Biden. I just don’t. I don’t trust the un-democratic process of power maneuvering that’s put him where he is today. I feel like I will never have allies as powerful as that. Why should they care about little ol me.