Notifications
Clear all

[Closed] Random Predictions II

Baba
(@baba)
Illustrious Member Moderator

Thanks! I’m blushing at such high praise! 

Seeker4, PamP, deetoo and 15 people reacted
(@allyn)
Illustrious Member Registered

I am not sure if this is a hit or not, but there has been several articles about how sea level rising and the moon wobbling on it's orbit may cause record flooding in the 2030s (specifically, the mid 2030s).

I am not good at adding links, but I will give it a try.  See below.

While all the coastal states will be affected, of course, I find that Florida and Texas in particular will be at great risk in part by the fact that they are so....Republican.  It has always been the curse of red states to pretend that climate change doesn't exist, so when the tides rise, we may see people being displaced.

To those of you who don't know, the worst natural disaster in America's history (which took place in a 24 hour period, of course) is the Galveston Hurricane of 1900.  This storm destroyed the city of Galveston in part because they failed to invest in a sea wall that could have helped mitigate the worst of the damage, foolishly believing that there was very little chance a storm would come to their location.  Many estimates put the death toll over 8000. 

I suspect history may be repeating itself.  And while I will shed no tears for the loss of Mar-o-largo sinking beneath the waves, I sincerely hope and pray that innocents see the writing on the wall and make their move now.  Even if major flooding doesn't occur, small floods over a long period will cause diseases and structural decay on a greater scale. As for Republicans, well....maybe it will be karma for people like Rick Scott and Ted Cruz to lose constituents.  After all, if water lapping at your front door won't convince you, then what will?

Rapid increases and extreme months in projections of United States high-tide flooding | Nature Climate Change

PamP, CC21, lenor and 19 people reacted